Stages of Grief

If you have recently lost a loved one, you have probably realized just how devastating an experience this can be. Even though it may feel like you are never going to be happy again, there are several stages of grief through which you will go through.

With all of this in mind, you must understand the stages of grief so that you know what to expect. Importantly, not everyone is going to spend the same amount of time in each stage. That is where grief therapy and depression treatment can be helpful. Learn more about the stages of grief below.


The first stage of grief is denial. You may still wonder if your loved one is actually gone. When people tell you that someone you love has passed away, you may tell them that they are wrong. You might even accuse them of lying. There are going to be difficult emotions to process during this time. Denial is the first stage of grief that you might feel.


As you continue to encounter signs that your loved one is gone, you may start to get angry. For example, you may lash out at family members trying to help you plan for your loved one’s final expenses. You might even lash out at friends who simply want to offer you a shoulder on which to cry. It is not unusual for people to get angry after the loss of a loved one.


Once you have had enough time to calm down, you may start looking for ways to bring your loved one back. For example, you may start telling yourself that if you wish hard enough, your loved one is going to return. Or, you may be looking for a way to spend enough money to bring your loved one back. You may start bargaining with family members, friends, and even medical professionals to look for a way to bring a loved one back to life.


Once you realize that there is no way to bring your loved one back, you may sink into a state of depression.

Some of the signs of depression include:

  • Your sleep habits changed drastically.
  • You start to feel guilty about things that are not your fault or over which you had no control.
  • Your appetite starts to change, either eating a tremendous amount or not at all.
  • You have unexplained fits of crying from time to time.
  • You start to lose enjoyment and activities that used to bring you great pleasure.

These are signs of depression and indicate that you may need to seek out grief therapy or depression treatment.


Finally, the very last stage of grief is acceptance. You finally accept that your loved one has passed away. You finally accept that there is no way that you can bring him or her back. You finally accept that it is not necessarily anyone’s fault but a fact of life that people eventually pass away, regardless of the circumstances. At the same time, it is critical for you to take care of yourself as you try to sort through what has happened to your loved one. That is where we can help you.

Progress Through the Stages of Grief with the Help of Alina Lodge

It can be challenging to go through the grieving process. Fortunately, you do not have to go through this alone. We are Alina Lodge, and we can help you progress through the stages of grief with grief therapy and depression treatment. We have invested in the latest tools and techniques in our fields to make sure that we can help you with all of your mental health needs. Contact our team today at 833.685.1700.

Leave a Comment